[University home]

Teaching and Learning Support Office

Winners 2015-16

Teaching Excellence Awards 2016: Celebration Event!

TE Group photo 2015.16

Four winners were selected by the panel for this year’s Teaching Excellence Awards, which were celebrated with a ceremony at Christie’s Bistro on 16th May hosted by Professor Clive Agnew. 

The winners of these awards will now join the University Teaching Excellence Network along with previous winners, our National Teaching Fellows and Distinguished Achievement Medallists to support and influence teaching and learning development in the future.

The panel is drawn from across the University and chaired by Professor Kersti Börjars. The winners demonstrated individual excellence, evidence of supporting and developing colleagues, impact and engagement beyond their immediate role as well as a commitment to their own development in teaching and learning. 

Clive Agnew Teaching Excellence Kersti -  Teaching Excellence

Professor Clive Agnew
Vice President Teaching, Learning & Students

 Professor Kersti Börjars
Associate Vice President Teaching, Learning & Students and Chair of Teaching Excellence Awards Committee

 In making the awards, the panel were particularly impressed by:

  • Kostas Arvanitis, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures for his ongoing work with ‘Digital Humanities’ and the way in which he has applied this to change student learning.  Also, of particular note was the way in which he connected a wide range of external engagement activities with the teaching and learning agenda, which has had a positive impact on student cohorts. 
  • Charles Walkden, School of Mathematics for the important role he has played in the large-scale revisions to teaching and learning in the School of Mathematics. The panel were also impressed by the positive influence he has had on colleagues to develop and embrace a blended learning approach alongside sustained public engagement activities to encourage mathematics to be seen as beautiful and exciting. 
  • Tianjian Ji, School of Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering for his ‘seeing and touching’ initiative and its demonstrable impact on students and staff alike, both locally and more widely.  The group also recognised the influence he has had by encouraging colleagues to consider how they can use the ideas behind your ‘concepts’ module in both academia and industry.     
  • Jason Hall, Manchester Pharmacy School for the breadth of his impact at a discipline, Faculty and national level, in particular recognising the difference he has made to Pharmacy teaching nationally through the establishment of the National Conference.  His contributions to the challenging area of Fitness to Practise were highly praised.

 Congratulations to you all!